Sri Lankan delegation visit parliament


Dec 11: A four-member Sri Lankan delegation led by the Secretary Seetha Withannarachchi of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs visited the National Assembly of Bhutan on December 8. 

The delegation met with Speaker Jigme Tshulthrim and other officials of the secretariat where Speaker emphasized on the close diplomatic relations between the two SAARC members and expressed hopes for more exchange programs. 

The delegation expressed their best wishes on behalf of the Sri Lankan Parliament and expressed appreciation for the decorum maintained in the Bhutanese Parliament.

The National Assembly Secretariat also did a presentation on the evolution of Bhutanese Parliament, legislative procedures and others for the delegation. The delegation also visited historical and religious places in the country.

The delegation left Bhutan on Friday.