Bhutan expands diplomatic ties with Slovenia, UAE

Picture courtesy : BBS

Bhutan has established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Slovenia and United Arab Emirates (UAE), as both the countries signed a joint communique  on September 13 in New York.

Lhatu Wangchuck (L) with Sanja Stiglic (Picture courtesy : MoFA)

Bhutan’s Permanent Representative to the UN Lhatu Wangchuck and his Slovenian counterpart Sanja Stiglic signed the communique, Ministry of Foreign Affairs stated.

“At the signing, the two ambassadors expressed the interest of their governments to cooperate closely in the bilateral and multilateral fields,” added the report.

In a separate ceremony, the Joint Communiqué on the establishment of diplomatic relations was signed between Lhatu Wangchuk, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Bhutan to the United Nations in New York, and his UAE counterpart Ahmed Al-Jarman at the Permanent Mission of the United Arab Emirates in New York.

Slovenia is the 41st country with which Bhutan has established diplomatic relations. The UAE is the 42nd country to tie with Bhutan.

Diplomatic ties that Bhutan has expanded in 2012

  1. Mongolia
  2. Vietnam
  3. Republic of the Union of Myanmar
  4. Argentine Republic
  5. Republic of Mauritius
  6. Republic of Slovenia
  7. United Arab Emirates
  8. Swaziland
  9. Republic of Fiji