Bhutanese Society of Nelson holds election


The Bhutanese Society of Nelson, a non- profit organization from New Zealand, elected its 11-member board of directors during its annual general meeting held on April 12.

New board of directors of Bhutanese Society of Nelson (Picture: BSN)
New board of directors of Bhutanese Society of Nelson
(Picture: BSN)

G. Regmi was re-elected as chair of the organization for his third tenure. Similarly, Dhan Bahadur Rai, Netra Prasad Sharma and Dhanman Pradhan were elected as vice-chair, secretary and treasurer. The other elected members included Hari Dahal, Dev Narayan Niroula, Bishnu Adhikari, Deependra Magar, Bimala Mangar and Purnima Alley

A three member election committee that comprised of Chandra Prasad Dahal, a founder member of the organization, Ghanashyam Pyakurel and Dhan Bahadur Mangar conducted the election.

The organization, which was formed in October 2010, has been involved in various community works. It also runs a radio program ‘Radio Lhotsampa’. Most of the organization’s programs are funded by Lottery Grant Board, Nelson City Council, Canterbury Community Trust, Community Organization Grant Scheme (COGS) and individual donors.